Teen 2.0


I am attending a training for my work. It, sometimes, is waking me up at night. The work is not difficult, it is simply intense. Yet as I turn on the computer, all I want to do is write blogs. So, instead of working on Young Adult’s readers advisory, I am writing a blog about it.

Me: Sahana, I am going to interview you for one of my classes.

Dying pterodactyl groan accompanied with a word I understand: Why???

Me: Because you are a teen and I need to interview a teen who reads and uses the library. You fit the bill.

Sahana: Yes, but I am not your average teen. I will give you deep answers.

Me: How are you not an average teen? What is an average teen anyway?

Sahana: I am just better than your average teen. I have maturity, common sense and lucid moments. Your average teen does not have those.

Me: Do you think you also suffer from the sin of hubris?

Sahana: Nope, I just say it straight. It is what it is. I am not an average teen. I am Teen 2.0. You know? The upgraded version!

My sweet little teen did not realize how very ‘teenagerish’ she sounded in that entire conversation! I was making marinara sauce in the kitchen for dinner. I did not even feel the burn of an errant spot of hot sauce on my hand, I was chuckling so hard. Silently, of course!

🙂

This entry was posted in What the kid said or thought. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Teen 2.0

  1. Rupa Raj says:

    Oh but she is! She does have the maturity, common sense & her lucid moments but she is still a teen at heart! 🙂 This was a really cute & fun read….hugzzz to Teen 2.0 & her wonderful mommy….take care & feel better soon, both of you!

  2. reshamblr says:

    She is not an average teen all right :D! Big thumbs up to the write up and the upgraded version of the teen 🙂

Leave a Reply

