Three day weekends


Do you remember in one of my earlier posts I described Sean as funny, loving yet lacking in culinary expertise? If my husband ever wrote a blog about me, he would probably write ‘she is funny, loving, a delightful woman but lacking in an eye for detail, when it comes to cleaning.’ At least I hope he will say those nice words before the critisicm, just like I did for him.

Sean is a man of many words and a man of even more actions. He doesn’t like to sit still. If he does sit still at a party, or a social gathering, he has this very embarrasing habit of falling asleep. On these occasions, I make it a point to sit next to him, just to give him a vicious nudge from time to time, to keep him awake and focussed on the conversation. Anyway, my workaholic husband doesn’t take it easy on our three day weekends. My house shines and sparkles after he has had a go at it. This weekend was particularly good since the husband and the kids cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner for me. The good man did loads and loads of laundry, cleaned the floors, took off the stove exhaust and cleaned the dirt and grime! Goodness, just discovered he organized my freezer! Help!! Can’t find the green beans. I am lost without my controlled chaos. Anyway, what did I do this weekend? I reigned over everybody like a queen, read books, wrote blogs, checked mail and Facebook, photographed the kids and the dog. In a nutshell, didn’t lift a finger to help my family. When I tried, out of guilt, I was shooed out of the kitchen. Ok then, twist my arm, folks.

My husband travels quite a bit. When I say to my mommy friends, ‘Yeah, Sean is gone for 10 days’, they say, ‘How fun. Now you won’t have dirty clothes and dirty towels on the floor, no food on your couch. You have complete control over your house for 10 days!’ Most of the times I faithfully admit, he is the picker upper in the family. Chances are he will come back and find dirty towels and clothes on the floor (I am just saying, I am really not that bad), they give me a look which conveys ‘Girl, you don’t know how lucky you are!’ Very rarely, when I am feeling particularly grumpy and tired for doing the ‘single parent’ thing for a while, I stay quiet and let them get false impressions, just out of spite.

Don’t get me wrong, I do keep my house clean. As long as you don’t look closely at the corners and under the beds when you come to visit. Over three-day weekends, Sean takes those dreaded closer looks and gets busy. It is my way of letting him feel indispensable, really. Also to keep him awake during the day with a lot of action. So after this 3 day weekend, I am sitting happily in a very clean, shiny house. Right after I publish this I am going to check how much can I let it slide before another three-day weekend comes around. Oh, darn! Where did he put the calendar now?

This entry was posted in Stories of my life - some.. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Three day weekends

  1. Love it!!!!!
    It is so true about Sean, but i think you do sooooooooo much with the kids, the house, the cooking… he better help you sometimes… this is “USA” and not “Brazil”! kkkkkkssss

  2. madammommy says:

    Thank you!!! Hahaha, can’t wait for Sean to read it:))!

  3. juno says:

    Clean ?? Whats that ? If you let a tiger lose in my house, I can bet you will not find it…..not that I don’t have a clean house–I just have a house which chaotically clean…….And I don’t even have someone like Sean in this house of mine….everyone seems to be turning a blind eye to the stuff lying on the floor for days….Piyali be thankful you have a Sean

  4. Arunima Das says:

    You are one lucky lucky thing…:)

  5. reshamblr says:

    phew…finally could comment…agree with Arunima, u are one lucky woman. Having said that there are very few people who would appreciate the way you do :). Super write up. Keep up the good work 🙂

  6. madammommy says:

    Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

